When logging into Genie, you might have noticed that one user has a tick next to their name in the login window.
This indicates that this user is the Genie Administrator. But what does being the Administrator mean? Well, outside of the security permissions you can set in the Edit Groups window, there are several functions that are specific to the Genie Administrator.
Please note: For security reasons, it's vital that every Genie user has a secure password configured for their account. This is doubly important for the Genie Administrator, as their password is required as confirmation for some of the functions below; failure to have a secure password attached to the Administrator account presents a significant security risk.
The Genie functions specific to the Administrator are as follows:
Adding a new user/Deleting a current user. When you click the Add User or Delete User button within the login window, you will be prompted to enter the Administrator's password in order to authorise this change.
Re-assigning the Administrator role. The only Genie user who can change the Genie Administrator is the current Administrator themselves. For information on how to change the Administrator, see our Changing the Administrator article.
Accessing the Audit Report. Genie's Audit Report keeps a record of all alterations made to billing information, including deleted items, adjusted fees, and changes to payments, credits, and deposits. See our Audit Report article for more information.
Making secure changes. There are some preferences and functions throughout Genie that must be carried out or enabled by the Administrator, due to their security implications:
- Allow invoices to be deleted option in Configuring Practice Preferences.
- The Create data copy script function in Maintenance & Reports.
- Deleting consult records that another user/provider has added.
Monitoring software updates. The Genie Administrator will see a Check for Updates tickbox within Special > Software Updates. Ticking this box will allow you to set how often you'd like Genie to check for new updates available in this window; when these updates are available, the Software Updates button will appear in the Navigation Palette to take you to the window. For more information about Software Updates, please refer to our article Using the Software Updates Window.
If you require access to any of the functionality above, but your Administrator is no longer available to assist, ensure that you change the Administrator to an appropriate staff member to ensure your practice's secure functions are being managed correctly.