If a patient record is deleted in error, attachments can be the hardest and most time-consuming information to replace.
To help prevent this from happening, having any attachments in a patient’s clinical record now prevents the record from being deleted in Genie v9.3.5 and above.
As with previous versions of Genie, having consult or billing information linked to the patient’s record will also prevent it from being deleted, per the message above.
If you have created a duplicate patient record, instead of deleting one entirely, have you considered merging the patient records together?
If you are still wanting to delete the record regardless of any patient information attached, you will need to firstly delete the files in the patient record preventing it from being deleted. To successfully delete a patient record, you will need to delete all:
- Invoices and corresponding payments;
- Consultation records; and
To delete consults and attachments, simply highlight the record in the clinical window and click the trash can to delete it.
Please note: You are only able to delete consults you have created. Only the Administrator of Genie can delete every user's consults.