While you are able to delete a patient's record in Genie, it is strongly recommended that you do not do this.
To ensure that you do not accidentally delete a patient with clinically significant information, you will be unable to delete a patient that has any of the following attached to their record:
- Consultation records
- Invoices and corresponding payments
If you attempt to delete a patient with any of the above you will receive the following alert.
If you have created a duplicate patient by mistake, you should instead merge the patient records together.
I understand the above and still want to delete a patient record
If, for any reason, you still wish to delete a patient, you will firstly need to take a backup of your Genie data to ensure you retain a record of this.
Once you have done this, you can then delete the files in the patient record that are preventing it from being deleted. As you are only able to delete consults that you have created (i.e. you cannot delete other users' consults), it is recommended that the administrator of Genie performs this task.
Highlight each record within the patient's clinical file and use the trash can icon to delete.
Note: You will not be able to delete invoices unless the "Allow Invoices to be Deleted" checkbox is ticked by your administrator in File > Practice Preferences.