If you've decided your practising days are over and are starting to wind down your clinic, there are a few things to consider when it comes to your Genie software. The following article outlines what you will need to do in Genie when you retire.
Before you begin
You may find the Automated Reports in Genie helpful for tying up loose ends in areas such as your financials.
You will also likely need to make contact with multiple patients to notify them of changes to your practice. A Merged Letter may make this process easier for you.
Please note: This information is only relevant if your Genie database and subscription will no longer be in use when you finish practising. If you are transferring ownership of the practice and data to someone else, you can contact our Accounts team for assistance. If you are leaving a practice that will continue to operate as normal, please see our When a Provider is Leaving Your Practice article.
Firstly, you will need to let our Accounts department know you're winding up your business. This way they can ensure that you aren't billed beyond the time you actually stop using Genie. You can get in touch with our Accounts department at our Contact page and they will be happy to discuss closing off your registration.
Even if you aren't actively using Genie anymore, you will still need access to your data. In order to view this data, you will require a version of Genie that will allow you to display your patient records in a readable format. This version of Genie is called Genie Single User (Solo) and simply needs to be installed on one computer. For an installer file for this version of Genie, please contact our Support team.
Once you have obtained your installer file, you will need to set up Genie Solo using the instructions in How to Restore a Backup. For the purpose of referencing your data, you will need to use the instructions for Restoring an Alternative Backup for Reference.
You will also need to copy across your Images folder from within the Genie folder on your Server. This is because Images contains your patients scans which may be necessary to access in the future. Ensure that this Images folder is pasted into your new Genie reference folder.
Once the file has been copied across, log into Genie Solo and navigate to File > Practice Preferences. Under Images and Attachments, ensure that the file path here is correct to point Genie to your Images folder.
You will still have access to Genie for 90 days from the expiry date of your Genie registration. However, once it passes the expiry date you will not be able to access the Software Updates window.
Once the 90 day period elapses, your database will revert into a single-user, read-only mode whereby you cannot add to your data file or make changes to your existing data. You can, however, continue to perform actions like printing your patient records and reports. After 90 days, you will have limited billing functionality and will no longer be able to access the Billing vs. Income or the Aged Debtors reports.