Once you have set up the stock module, you will need to manage your stock items to keep your data accurate and up to date. The following article outlines how to make changes to your stock in Genie.
Before you begin
Before you begin using the Stock Module, you'll need to ensure that this has been configured in Genie. For more information on configuring the Stock Module in Genie, please see our Setting up the Stock Module article.
Stock will sometimes need to be manually removed for various reasons. To remove part or all of your supply of a stocked item, go into Open > Stock Control and double-click on the item.
Click on the Remove Stock button to open the subtract stock window.
Enter the amount of stock you would like to subtract
The Reason drop-down menu will default to stock-take, however, and additional reasons can be added by expanding the drop-down and selecting Add.
Once you confirm your new reason, it will be available for selection in the Reason drop-down menu for future stock subtractions.
If the subtraction causes your stock level to fall below the warn threshold the stocked item will now be displayed with a red highlight.
If you have many different suppliers, you may wish to reorder your stock list by supplier.
With all items from this supplier grouped together, you can easily see if there are more items to request in the next order.
Alternatively, you can view only items with low stock by going into the drop-down menu in the top right corner and selecting Low Stock
Any users who have Alert When Stock Below Threshold ticked in their security settings, will receive a prompt for items with low stock when they next log into Genie.
To stop warning for the displayed items, tick the Stop warning for these items checkbox in the alert window.
If you later need to reactivate the warnings for an item, double-click on the item in the stock control window and re-tick the Show Warning checkbox.
When you are no longer selling or using a particular stocked item, you can remove it from your stocked items list.
Firstly, go into Open > Stock Control to view your stocked items.
Highlight the stock you would like to remove and click on the Delete button.
If there are patients waiting for this item, a notification will appear asking you to first remove the patients from the waiting list.
If appropriate, you can use this as a reminder to contact the patient before deleting them from the waiting list.
If no patients are waiting for this stock, a confirmation will appear. Click on Yes to confirm the deletion.
A reason prompt will appear, allowing you to enter a reason for your Stock Audit.
Enter your reason for discontinuing this item and click on OK to confirm.
Once an item has been discontinued, it can only be viewed when No Longer Managed is selected in the top right corner.
Note: It is possible to delete entries from this window by clicking on the Delete button , however if you do this you will no longer be able to access reporting for this item.