Creating Patient Claims in Genie makes online claiming much more convenient for patients, but sometimes Patient Claims can be created in error, or they need to be adjusted after they have been transmitted to add a payment or delete an item. If you have found yourself in this situation, this article will help you understand when you can delete a Patient Claim, and how this can be done correctly within Genie.
If you have sent a Patient Claim at the point of invoicing, or from the Account History of the patient via the Create Patient Claim button, you can retract this claim by highlighting the items that were sent on the claim, clicking the Delete Patient Claim button.
Please note: This button can only be used to delete a Patient Claim if you submitted the claim that same day. If the claim was submitted to Medicare on a previous day, you will not be able to delete the claim within Genie and will need to contact Medicare to discuss cancelling or adjusting the claim with them directly.
If the items you have highlighted have had a Patient Claim transmitted, you will receive a prompt asking you to select the reason for the deletion.
The claim will then be deleted, or a message indicating why the claim can’t be deleted will appear.
If the items you have highlighted have not previously had a Patient Claim sent, you will receive a prompt advised there is no patient claim attached. This indicates the claim has been deleted or was not successfully transmitted in the first instance.
In this case, you can click OK, then click Create Patient Claim and transmit the corrected claim to Medicare.
If you have opted not to send a Patient Claim in Real-Time, it will be stored for later transmission in the Patient Claims transmission window, which can be found by going to File > Maintenance and Reports > Daily > Patient Claims Transmission.
In this window, you will see a list of Patient Claim batches that have already been sent to Medicare. If you would like to delete one of these transmissions, you can highlight the batch on the left and click the Delete Transmission button at the top of the window.
Please Note: This button works the same way as the Delete Patient Claim button in the Account History. If the batch was transmitted prior to the day you are attempting to delete it, you may be able to delete this batch, but this will not remove the batch from Medicare’s servers, or prevent them from processing it.